Guest Artists

Every year the Department of Dance hosts local and internationally recognized guest choreographers and teachers to share their expertise with our students. These artists offer master classes and residencies that last from a few hours to two weeks or more. Some classes are open to participants outside the Department of Dance. Recent guests have included:

Kawasaki Guest Artists

Thanks to a generous gift from Glenn Kawasaki, the Department of Dance hosts an annual guest artist, exposing undergraduate dancers to top-tier local and international dance artists. 

Mellon Creative Artist Fellowships

The Andrew W. Mellon Foundation has awarded the University of Washington a three and a half year, $750,000 grant to pilot a new Creative Fellowships Initiative that will explore the nature of creative research at a top public research university. The interdisciplinary initiative will advance the field of performing arts by supporting artists in the development of new work and by integrating the performing arts disciplines into the broader curriculum. This is the first time the University's performing arts units, the School of Music, Drama, XARTS, Department of Dance and Meany Center for the Performing Arts have joined together for an experiment this scale.

Department of Dance Fellows include:


  • Abby Yeager
  • AXIS Dance Company (UW World Series)
  • Betsy Fisher, Murray Louis Dance Company
  • Brenna Monroe-Cook, Jose Limon Company/Limon Foundation
  • Carla Maxwell, Jose Limon Company/Limon Foundation
  • Deborah Carr, Charles Weidman's Theatre Dance Company
  • Jane Comfort, Jane Comfort Company
  • Jeffrey Huang, Pilobolus
  • Jennifer Scanlon, Jose Limon Company/Limon Foundation
  • Sarah Stackhouse, Jose Limon Company/Limon Foundation
  • Shelley Senter, Henry Art Gallery performance and residency
  • Trey McIntyre Project (UW World Series)
  • Trisha Brown Company (UW World Series)
  • Zvi Gotheiner

Master Classes

  • Alonzo King, Lines Contemporary Ballet
  • Bebe Miller
  • Bill T. Jones
  • Cameron McKinney
  • Daniel Linehan
  • Grupo Corpo (UW World Series)
  • Holly Farmer, Merce Cunningham Foundation
  • Kevin Shannon, Hubbard Street Dance Chicago
  • Mark Dendy
  • Mark Morris Dance Group (UW World Series)
  • Meg Harper, Merce Cunningham Foundation
  • Momix (UW World Series)
  • Patricia Hunt, Merce Cunningham Foundation
  • Paul Taylor Dance Company (UW World Series)
  • Pilobolus (UW World Series)

Note: (UW World Series) denotes Master Classes and Residencies in collaboration with UW World Series.